Android/MMRAT : Additional Analysis

Hello!

Today, I wanted to talk about the Android MMRAT Banking Trojan. This trojan has a ton of features and was covered very well by a recent Trend Micro blog post here:

and for those of you wanting IOCs, they posted those here:

https://www.trendmicro.com/content/dam/trendmicro/global/en/research/23/h/mmrat-carries-out-bank-fraud-via-fake-app-stores/IOC_stealthy-android-malware-mmrat-carries-out-bank-fraud-via-fake-app-stores.txt

I used this information, a long with some PCAPs I scored to make a few rules in the ETOPEN ruleset:

• 2048084 ET MOBILE_MALWARE Android/MMRAT Data Exfiltration Attempt
  • 2048085 ET MOBILE_MALWARE Android/MMRAT CnC Checkin M1
  • 2048086 ET MOBILE_MALWARE Android/MMRAT CnC Checkin M2

I want to make sure its known before I dive into the rest of this post, that I’m not necessarily a reverse engineer by trade. I picked up a thing or two over time, and I just happen to notice patterns in the network traffic as I’m analyzing it. If you happen to be a professional reverse engineer and you would like to add your two cents, please feel free to do so, as we can all learn from your experience.

I wanted to talk about the network traffic I observed to create these rules. First, I’m going to talk about rule 2048084, since its a straightforward HTTP protocol rule: