Want to get started with NSM? I have a few projects for you (Building Virtual Machine Labs, Autosnort3, Autosuricata)

Hey folks

I wanted to share a little bit of information about some side projects that I have been maintaining for a few years.

Building Virtual Machine Labs: A Hands-on Guide

First and foremost, I wrote a book called Building Virtual Machine Labs: A Hands-On Guide (Second Edition). For those who are interested, you can find physical copies (in color, or in black and white) on Amazon, or you can download a PDF via leanpub.com/avatar2.

Fair warning, the physical books are huge, there are two volumes, its a little pricey due to Amazon’s changes to how royalties and printing costs work.

The digital edition on the other hand is ‘pay what you want’. That also includes zero dollars (free). Register an account on leanpub, then add the book to your cart, making sure to set the cost slider as far to the left as you can until it reads free.

As I mentioned a second ago, the book has a huge page count, because its very thorough, and littered with images and flow charts to help guide readers and visual learners alike. But don’t be intimidated by how much content there is.

My book is kind of structured like a ‘choose your own adventure’ story. The first couple of chapters help readers establish the foundations on what virtualization is, types of virtualization, good practices, and how the lab environment is designed, while the “middle chapters” of the book are where the reader gets to choose what hypervisor they want to use. You can choose:

• Oracle Virtualbox on Windows, Linux or MacOS
  • Microsoft Client Hyper-V (on Windows 10 or Windows 11 Professional/Education editions)
  • VMware Workstation on Linux or Windows
  • VMware ESXi
  • VMware Fusion (on x86_64/Intel)